

DATE: June 26, 2024

TO: Energy Council

FROM: Timothy Burroughs, Executive Director

SUBJECT: Election of Energy Council Officers for Fiscal Year 2025

SUMMARY

Energy Council Officers' terms are on a fiscal year basis. Since the end of June concludes the Agency's fiscal year, it is time for election of new officers for FY 2025, effective July 1, 2024.

DISCUSSION

David Haubert (Alameda County) is the current President; Mike Hannon (Newark) is the First Vice President; and David Mourra (Emeryville) is the Second Vice President.

It is customary, but not required by policy, for each officer to "advance one level" each year. Therefore, the Energy Council may choose to elect First Vice President Hannon to serve as President and current Second Vice President Mourra as First Vice President. The Energy Council would then elect a new Second Vice President.

Unlike the Waste Management Authority, the Energy Council does not need to consider geographic origin within the county when electing officers. At its inception, the Energy Council was interested in ensuring that the officers were not all from large or small member agencies. Larger agencies might be defined as those with more than one vote on the Energy Council, in recognition that they have larger populations than the other agencies. The agencies with more than one vote are the City of Oakland (3), County of Alameda (2), City of Hayward (2), and City of Fremont (2).

RECOMMENDATION

Staff recommends that the Energy Council elect officers for Fiscal Year 2025.