

June 17, 2015

TO: Waste Management Authority

FROM: Gary Wolff, Executive Director

SUBJECT: Election of Officers for Fiscal Year 2015-2016

BACKGROUND

Authority officer's terms are for a fiscal year. Since June concludes our fiscal year, it is time for election of new officers, effective July 1st. Pauline Cutter from South County is the current President, Jerry Pentin from East County is the current First Vice President, and Dan Kalb from North County is the current Second Vice President. Authority policy calls for the geographic origin of officers to rotate each year. That is, the next President should be from East County, the next First Vice President from North County, and the next Second Vice President from South County. It is customary, but not required by policy, for each officer to 'advance one level' each year.

North County is defined by the policy as Albany, Berkeley, Oakland, Emeryville, Piedmont and Alameda. South County is defined by the policy as Hayward, San Leandro, Union City, Newark, and Fremont. East County is defined by the policy as Castro Valley Sanitary District, Oro Loma Sanitary District, Dublin, Livermore, and Pleasanton. The County's geographic designation is determined by the member's supervisorial district boundary.

RECOMMENDATION

Staff recommends that the Authority Board elect officers for the 2015-2016 fiscal year.