

**DATE:** June 26, 2024

TO: Waste Management Authority (WMA) Board

FROM: Timothy Burroughs, Executive Director

**SUBJECT:** Election of WMA Officers for Fiscal Year 2025

## **SUMMARY**

Authority officers' terms are on a fiscal year basis. Since the end of June concludes the Agency's fiscal year, it is time for election of new WMA Board officers, effective July 1, 2024.

## DISCUSSION

Bob Carling (Livermore) from East County is the current President, Francisco Zermeño (Hayward) from South County is the current First Vice President, and Tracy Jensen (Alameda) from North County is the current Second Vice President.

It is customary, but not required by policy, for each officer to 'advance one level' each year. Therefore, the Board may choose to elect First Vice President Francisco Zermeño to serve as President, and current Second Vice President Tracy Jensen as First Vice President. The Authority must then elect a Second Vice President.

Authority policy calls for the geographic origin of officers to rotate each year. The next Second Vice President should therefore be from East County. The county's geographic designation is determined by the member's supervisorial district boundary:

- North County is defined as Alameda, Albany, Berkeley, Emeryville, Oakland, Piedmont and Unincorporated Alameda County.
- South County is defined as Fremont, Hayward, Newark, Oro Loma Sanitary District, San Leandro, and Union City.
- East County is defined Castro Valley Sanitary District, Dublin, Livermore, and Pleasanton.

## **RECOMMENDATION**

That the WMA Board elect officers for Fiscal Year 2025.